• News Item

Dr Markus Kraft and Dr Robert Patterson receive the Ricardo award

20th July, 2009

PTSG During the Institute of Physics' Spring meeting on "Combustion Theory and Modelling" held in London on the 24th of June. Dr Markus Kraft and Dr. Robert Patterson received the Ricardo award for best UK paper in 2007: Models for the aggregate structure of soot particles, Combustion and Flame, 151, 160-172, 2007.

The award acknowledges significant technological advance or significance of the contribution in advancing understanding at a fundamental level, and is awarded annually. The prize is £250 and is accompanied by a certificate.

In addition the "Huw Edwards Prize for Services to Combustion Physics" for 2009 was awarded to Prof Graham Dixon-Lewis, and a dinner to mark these awards was held on the evening of Tuesday the 23rd of June.